clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DeMeco Ryans Wins Alabama Amateur Athlete of the Year

The Alabama Sports Writers Association voted Alabama linebacker DeMeco Ryans their Alabama Amateur Athlete of the Year. Ryans beat out teammates Brodie Croyle and Kenneth Darby as well as Auburn running back Kenny Irons for the award.

Ryans adds this to his already impressive list of honors including:

  • 2005 Lott Trophy
  • 2005 SEC Defensive Player of the Year
  • 2005 AP All-American (1st team)
  • 2005 Coach's All-American (1st team)
  • 2005 All-American (1st team)
  • 2005 Arthur Ashe Sports Scholar
  • Four time All-SEC Academic team

Ryans, now with the Houston Texans, will be honored at a banquet in Auburn on Monday.