clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Senior Snub

On Sunday night, the Crimson Tide held its annual team banquet in the Bryant Conference Center. Player awards were handed out, most important of which were the announcement of the permanent team captains. As you probably know, permanent team captains get their hand prints and footprints cast in stone on the steps of Denny Chimes in the Walk of Fame, and the team captains are almost always seniors. It is extremely rare for non-seniors to be tabbed as permanent team captains.

Coach Saban announced on Sunday night that three players were elected permanent team captains: junior safety Rashad Johnson, junior offensive lineman Antoine Caldwell, and senior linebacker Darren Mustin.

Well, doesn't that speak a thousand words?

Where were all of those seniors from the 2004 class that was recruited so hard? Notice who was not elected. Not D.J. Hall. Not Matt Caddell. Not Keith Brown. Not Simeon Castille. Not Justin Britt. Not Marcus Carter. Not Eric Gray.

You get the idea.