clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Big 12 Football Out of Conference Scheduling 2010

New, 5 comments

In attempt to speed things up for the results and analysis posts, I'm going to go ahead and post the last two lists today. Here's post 5 of 6 on the out of conference scheduling of the six BCS conferences. A full list of those we've already been through is at the bottom of the post. Now we'll have a look at the Big 12, who has 48 out of conference games:

BAYLOR: Sam Houston State, Buffalo, at TCU, at Rice

COLORADO: Colorado State, at California, Hawai'i, Georgia

IOWA STATE: Northern Illinois, at Iowa, Northern Iowa, Utah

KANSAS: North Dakota State, Georgia Tech, at Southern Miss, New Mexico State

KANSAS STATE: UCLA, Missouri State, UCF, at North Texas

MISSOURI: Illinois, Bowling Green, Furman, at Nevada

NEBRASKA: Western Kentucky, Idaho, at Washington, South Dakota State

OKLAHOMA: Utah State, Florida State, Air Force, at Cincinnati

OKLAHOMA STATE: Washington State, Troy, Tulsa, at Louisiana-Lafayette

TEXAS: at Rice, Wyoming, UCLA, Florida Atlantic

TEXAS A&M: New Mexico State, Utah State, UAB, Arkansas (neutral site: Dallas)

TEXAS TECH: SMU, at New Mexico, Weber State, Houston

Initial impressions:

  • Five schools (Colorado, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas and Texas A&M) don't play FCS teams this year. Kudos to the Big 12 for nearly half the conference saying no to beating up on lower division schools in 2010.
  • Every team in the conference plays at least one game away from home. Texas A&M plays a neutral site game with Arkansas and Texas plays at Rice (though that game is at Reliant Stadium and will be more or less be a Texas home game as far as the crowd is concerned.) 
  • 11 of 44 games (25%) are against BCS competition.
  • 13 of 44 games (30%) are played on the road or at neutral sites.
  • Colorado and Oklahoma play two BCS schools each.

Breakdown of opponents by conference (excluding the seven FCS opponents):

  • C-USA (8): Houston, Rice (x2), Southern Miss, SMU, Tulsa, UAB, UCF,
  • WAC (7): Hawai'i, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico State (x2), Utah State (x2)
  • Mountain West (6): Air Force, Colorado State, New Mexico TCU, Utah, Wyoming
  • Pac-10 (5): California, UCLA (x2), Washington, Washington State
  • Sun Belt (5): Florida Atlantic, Louisiana-Lafayette, North Texas, Troy, Western Kentucky
  • MAC (3): Bowling Green, Buffalo, Northern Illinois
  • ACC (2): Florida State, Georgia Tech
  • Big Ten (2): Illinois, Iowa
  • SEC (2): Arkansas, Georgia
  • Big East (1): Cincinnati

The Pac-10 list will follow shortly.