clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alabama A Day Awards: Barrett Jones Wins Dwight Stephenson "Best Lineman" Award at Left Tackle

There really could be something to this whole "Barrett Jones to LT" thing; after only two practices at the position before playing there the whole game today, Barrett Jones was given the Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award for his performance:

Jones, who had two practices at left tackle this week, has played in 25 games, all at right guard. Instead, coaches had junior-college transfer Aaron Douglas with the second unit next to Alfred McCullough at left guard.

"It’s been a big challenge," Jones said. "I really felt like I had to get back to the basics."

Jones handled the move well today, holding his own against the likes of Courtney Upshaw, and the line performed pretty well with it's new configuration, so I wouldn't be shocked to see this one stick (at least for awhile) in the fall.  The other awards recipients are as follows, with Saban's post game comments after the jump:

Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award - Barrett Jones
Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player Award - Trent Richardson
Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award
– Josh Chapman, Dont’a Hightower
Jerry Duncan "I Like to Practice" AwardBrad Smelley, Damion Square, Brandon Gibson
Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman AwardEd Stinson
Paul Crane Offensive Lineman AwardWilliam Vlachos
Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Dequan Menzie
Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award Eddie Lacy
Ray Perkins Receiver AwardDarius Hanks, Marquise Maze
Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – CJ Mosley
Derrick Thomas Community Service AwardNico Johnson, Tana Patrick
Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship AwardHardie Buck, Will Lowery
Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman AwardAdrian Hubbard, Jarrick Williams, Deandrew White, Phillip Sims
Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – AJ McCarron, Anthony Steen, Jerrell Harris, Dre Kirkpatrick
Mal Moore Leadership Award – Barrett Jones, Mark Barron
Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Trent Richardson, Courtney Upshaw