clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Saturday Bowl Games:
Schedules & Picks

Avoid the malls and take in some college ball.

Dee Hart.
Dee Hart.
Doug Pensinger/Getty Images


Nevada (7-5) vs. LA-Lafayette (8-4)
NEW ORLEANS BOWL, New Orleans, LA
ESPNESPN
10am ET / 11am ET
Rundown: Kickoff at 10am?? In New Orleans??? You might as well save money on a hotel, stay out all night, and then go to the game. On paper, the Wolf Pack - who boast victories over Washington State and BYU - look like the stronger team. The Ragin' Cajuns biggest win came over 7-5 Arkansas State. But expect ULL to have a home field feel with campus being a mere two-hour drive away.
Players to watch: Nevada QB Cody Fajardo (2,374 yards passing, 997 rushing); ULL RB Elijah McGuire (1,165 rush yds, 16 total TDs) Sun Belt Player of the Year.
Pick: Nevada 37 ULL 34


Utah State (9-4) vs. UTEP (7-5)
NEW MEXICO BOWL, Albuquerque, NM
ESPNESPN
1:20pm CT / 2:20pm ET
Rundown: You thought Ohio State had a bad situation at quarterback? USU is down to their fourth-string signal-caller, true freshman Kent Myers, who won five straight before losing to Boise in the regular season finale. The Miners had no wins over teams with winning records.
Player to watch: Utah State linebacker Zach Vigil, began his career as a walk-on and now is the MWC Defensive Player of the Year. He plays alongside younger brother and fellow All-MWC LB Nick Vigil who also plays on offense as a running back.
Pick: USU 34 UTEP 24

#22 Utah (8-4) vs. Colorado State (10-2)
VEGAS BOWL, Las Vegas, NV
ABCABC
2:30pm CT / 3:30pm ET
Rundown: Finally, an interesting game. Former Bama RB Dee Hart hopes to lead the Rams to their first 11-win season since Sonny Lubick's 1997 squad. Offensive coordinator Dave Baldwin will serve as interim coach. Utah has had a wishy-washy season beating Southern Cal and UCLA but losing to Washington State.
Players to watch: CSU's Hart (1,254 yds, 16 TD) and QB Garrett Grayson (3,779 yds, 32 TD 6 INT); Utah DE/OLB Nate Orchard (17.5 sacks).
Pick: I hate to say it but Utah 36 CSU 31

Western Michigan (8-4) vs. Air Force (9-3)
POTATO BOWL, Boise, ID
ESPNESPN
4:45pm CT / 5:45pm ET
Rundown: Not an exciting match-up played on a stupid blue field in cold wet weather. This would be a good time to wrap presents or make some figgy pudding. Ya know they won't leave until they get some.
Players to watch:  Falcons linebacker Jordan Pierce (52 solos, 55 assists); WMU RB Jarvion Franklin (1,525 yds, 24 TD), WR Corey Davis (70 rec, 1,232 yds, 12 TD).
Pick: WMU 31 AF 24

South Alabama (6-6) vs. Bowling Green (7-6)
CAMELLIA BOWL, Montgomery, AL
ESPNESPN
8:15pm CT / 9:15pm ET
Rundown: Congrats to Coach Joey Jones and the Jags for getting to their first bowl game. As an added bonus, they don't have to travel far and should have some fans in attendance.
Players to watch: BGSU PR Ryan Burbrink; USA DL Theo Rich (8 sacks), QB Brandon Bridge, a legitimate NFL prospect.
Pick: Sorry Jags fans, BG 29 USA 23