clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Bowl Games: Tuesday Schedule, Picks & Open Thread

Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

Tuesday, December 30 2014

All games can be seen on ESPN.

Notre Dame Fighting Irish (7-5) vs. LSU Tigers (8-4)
MUSIC CITY BOWL, NASHVILLE, TN - 2pm CT / 3pm ET
Rundown: It's the battle of terrible quarterbacks. Irish senior Everett Golson started the season so strong but went downhill FAST giving up the ball an astounding 22 times (14 INT, 8 fumbles). I believe he has one more year of eligibility left but coach Brian Kelly is sending a not-so-subtle message by starting sophomore Malik Zaire who attempted his first college career pass on November 29th. On the flip side, LSU's Les Miles is sticking with his albatross, Anthony Jennings (48.8% compl. rate, 10 TD, 7 INT).
Players to watch: LSU OT La'el Collins, RB Leonard Fournette; ND LB Jaylon Smith (60 solos; 43 asst)
Pick: Ima going all Ess Ee See bias here and say LSU -7.5.


Georgia Bulldogs (9-3) vs. Louisville Cardinals (9-3)
DEPARTMENT STORE BOWL, CHARLOTTE, NC - 5:30pm CT / 6:30pm ET
Rundown: Former UGA defensive coordinator Todd Grantham left/was allowed to leave Athens for the same position at Louisville after last season. Dawgs fans often aimed their anger with the team at him. Now they are reunited and it feels so good. The 'Ville finished the regular season with the fifth best defense. UGA was 17th.
Players to watch: UGA RB Nick Chubb, LB Amarlo Herrera (41 solo, 71 asst); 'Ville S Gerod Holliman (14 INT, Jim Thorpe Award, first team All-America).
Pick: This is a winnable game for UGA but 7 points seems a bit much for a team that has lost 3 of their last 4 bowl games. Take Louisville +7.


Maryland Terrapins
(7-5) vs. Stanford Cardinal (7-5)
SANTA CLARA BOWL, SANTA CLARA, CA - 9:00pm CT / 10:00pm ET
Rundown: This is basically a home game for the Trees with the stadium being around 12 miles from their campus. It will take the Terps longer to get through security at the airport.
Players to watch: Stanford OT Andrus Peat (2nd team All-America); Maryland will likely look to Will Likely to lead their secondary.

Pick: Stanford should mop the floor with the Turtles. Silicon Valley -14.

ROLL TIDE!