clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football New Year's Eve Bowl Games Thread

Ole Miss-TCU ~ Boise-Az ~ MSU-GT

Getcha game face on, girlz!
Getcha game face on, girlz!
Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Wednesday, December 31 2014

All games can be seen on ESPN.

Ole Miss Rebels (9-3) vs. TCU Horned Frogs (11-1)
PEACH BOWL, ATLANTA, GA - 11:30am CT / 12:30pm ET
Rundown: TCU feels like they were dissed for being left off the playoff final four and will be looking to make a statement against a rising SEC power. It's fireworks offense versus a smack-em-in-the mouth defense. Rebels fans are hoping "Good Bo" Wallace shows up in his final collegiate game.
Players to watch: Rebs' CB Senquez Golson (9 INT, 8 BrkUp), S Cody Prewitt (41 solo, 19 ast); TCU LB v Paul Dawson (78 solo, 50 ast, 18.5 TFL, 5 sacks, 4 INT, 3 FumRec, 2 FF), I'm not really sold on QB Trevone Boykin but the national press seem enamored with him.
Pick: The Frogs have yet to face a defense like the Land Sharks. Take OM +3.5.


Boise State Broncos (11-2) vs. Arizona Wildcats (10-3)
FIESTA BOWL, Glendale, AZ - 3:00pm CT / 4:00pm ET
Rundown: Someone please explain to me how the Smurfs backed their way into this bowl. They played one ranked team this year in Ole Miss (in Atlanta) and were smothered 35-13. 'Zona is a good but not great team.
Players to watch: AZ LB Scooby Wright (89-64, 28 TFL, 14 sacks, 6 FF); Smurfs RB Jay Ajayi (1,689 yds, 25 TD).
Pick: Wildcats at -3? Yes, thank you!


Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets (10-3) vs. Mississippi State Bulldogs (10-2)
ORANGE BOWL, MIAMI, FL - 7:00pm CT / 8:00pm ET
Rundown: This game will be the last hurrah for 17 seniors who are two-deep on the
clanga-clangs depth chart, as well as for a few juniors who might leave early for the NFL. The Yeller Jackets run the WWII-era triple option. IMHO, this is a true test for Dan Mullen as a Xs and Os coach.
Players to watch: GT QB Justin Thomas decom
mitted from Bama because mean ol' Nick Saban (and everyone else in the country) wanted him as a DB but he wanted to be a QB. He got his wish. Too bad he will never play in the NFL. Also for GT, LB Quayshawn Nealy (55-35, 2 INT, 4 BrkUp, 3 FumRec); MSU LB Benardrick McKinney (2nd team All-Am), OG Ben Beckwith.
Pick: This line has been bouncing up and down for weeks and seems to have settled in around MSU favored by 5.5. I think that is too much to trust against the red hot Ramblin' Wreck. Just to be safe, take the underdog.

ROLL TIDE!