clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Amari Cooper Named Heisman Finalist

Amari Cooper is the man.
Amari Cooper is the man.
Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper has been named as a Heisman Trophy finalist.

Cooper has led the Crimson Tide to a number one ranking and a birth into the first college football playoff.

He leads the nation with 115 receptions and 1,656 receiving yards. The junior All-American has 14 receiving touchdowns on the season.

The other two finalists are Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon.

Only two other wide receivers have won the award (Desmond Howard, Michigan, 1991 and Tim Brown, Notre Dame, 1987). However, it wasn't until 2007 that the trophy had gone to a classman lower than a junior (sophomore Tim Tebow, Florida). So, maybe things are changing. This thing isn't a done deal yet.

The 80th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Presentation will take place on Saturday, December 13, at 7pm CT / 8pm ET in New York City. The presentation will be aired by ESPN.

The actual votes including placements (first through fifth) are not revealed until after the presentation has been made.

Roll Tide!