clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Football Around the SEC:
Spring Games I

New, 5 comments

Get your College Football fix.

Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

Although technically SEC spring games started on March 21 when Vanderbilt decided they just wanted to get the misery over with, the real meaty spring games kickoff on Saturday, April 11 with four SEC teams on display.

From 11am CT until 3pm CT, the SEC Network Alternate channel will air the SEC Spring Whip Around in which the coverage will shift around to various scrimmages among South Carolina, Florida, Ole Miss, and Georgia. The SEC Network Alternate channel is not the regular SEC Network channel. It is likely up in the high numbers. Check your local listings or just scroll through your cable TV menu.

Individual games can be seen live on SEC Network+ (aka espn3.com).

South Carolina Gamecocks

Garnet & Black Spring Game: 11am CT / noon ET; Dari Nowkhah, Booger McFarland, & Kaylee Hartung
Storylines: After a lackluster 2014 (7-6, 3-5), Steve Spurrier - who turns 70 in ten days - hopes to get some team mojo back for one last run. QB Dylan Thompson and RB Mike Davis have moved on. Connor Mitch and Brandon Wilds are the next men up.
Players to watch: #11 WR Pharoh Cooper, #22 Wilds.
Extra Point: The Gamecocks have two starters on the defensive line named Gerald Dixon.

Florida Gators

Orange & Blue Debut: 11:30am CT / 12:30pm ET; Adam Amin, Chris Doering, & Shannon Spake
Storylines: Former Alabama offensive coordinator and Colorado State head coach Jim McElwain takes over the reins in Gainesville with heavy pressure to produce early on. But this will be a rebuilding process.
Players to watch: QB battle between #7 Will Grier and #3 Treon Harris, #90 DL Jonathan Bullard.
Extra Point: Due to injuries and limited numbers along the offensive line and in the linebackers corps, the Gators’ annual Orange & Blue Debut is going to be more of an enhanced scrimmage rather than the traditional game format.

Ole Miss Rebels

Grove Bowl: 12pm CT / 1pm ET; Chris Cotter, Greg McElroy, & Kayce Smith
Storylines: QB Bo Wallace is finally gone (is that a good thing or a bad thing?). Despite this departure, the Rebs return basically everyone on the offense. But who will take the snaps? CB Senquez Golson, S Cody Prewitt, and LB Serderius Bryant depart the defense with much of the rest of the D intact.
Players to watch: #78 OT Laremy Tunsil, #5 DT Robert Nkemdiche.
Extra Point: Hugh Freeze told reporters "The winning team gets steak. The losers get hotdogs." Hmm, where did he get that idea?

Georgia Bulldogs

G-Day: 1pm CT / 2pm ET; Dave Neal, Matt Stinchcomb, & Maria Taylor
Storylines: For the second season in a row, Mark Richt will be breaking in a new quarterback. Brice Ramsey looks like the leader in the clubhouse over Faton Bauta and Jacob Park. One ancillary problem with this uncertainty is that the UGA wide receiving corps has been plagued with dropped passes this spring.
Players to watch: #12 Ramsey, #10 Bauta, #7 Park, #27 RB Nick Chubb.
Extra Point: Remember this guy Roquan Smith who committed to UCLA on NSD and then flipped to UGA after the Bruins DC took a job with the Atlanta Falcons? He still has not signed a letter of intent instead signing only non-binding grant-in-aid papers with the Bulldogs. He will be an official recruit when he attends his first day of college classes this summer.

~~~

Repeats can be seen Sunday evening as well as at various times throughout the week on the regular SEC Network.

Sunday, 5:30pm/6:30pm - Ole Miss
Sunday, 7pm/8pm - South Carolina
Sunday, 9pm/10pm - Georgia