clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jansen, Routliffe Repeat As NCAA Women's Doubles Champions

Dominating season culminates in back-to-back crown.

University of Alabama Athletics (FB)

The defending national champions entered the season number one with a bullet, and they did not disappoint.

Maya Jansen and Erin Routliffe demolished the competition in this season of seeming-destiny. Considering the pair had not played doubles tennis or even met one another prior to the beginning of last season, not a bad two-year run.

WOMEN'S TENNIS: Jansen-Routliffe win back-to-back national titles

WACO, Texas --- For just the second time in the history of NCAA women's tennis, a doubles team has won back-to-back national titles. On Monday, reigning NCAA doubles champions, Alabama's Maya Jansen and Erin Routliffe,stamped their names in the record books, defeating Cal's Klara Fabikova and Zsofi Susanyi 6-2, 6-7(5), 6-3.

Here is your match- and championship-clenching point from the aggressive duo.

We at Roll 'Bama Roll extend our congratulations to Maya and Erin.

Roll Tide, ladies.