clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Alabama players make FWAA Anniversary All-America Team, led by Derrick Thomas

Alabama's storied history got recognized again on Thursday.

Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images

Four Alabama greats made the cut on the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America Team, which was announced Thursday — and two of those players made the first team.

Those two players were offensive lineman John Hannah and linebacker Derrick Thomas, and both players' presence on the first team gives Alabama more first-teamers than any school other than Ohio State. (Sigh.) The four Crimson Tide selections — Barrett Jones was selected to the third team as an offensive lineman, and Lee Roy Jordan made that same third team as a linebacker — tie Alabama for fourth among all programs, behind Nebraska's six selections and the five each for Pittsburgh and Ohio State.

The four Crimson Tide players picked also leads the SEC: Georgia is second with three selections, and Florida comes in third with two, while Auburn, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Texas A&M all have just one.

Alabama also holds two other distinctions in relation to the FWAA's selections: Jones is the most "recent" player to appear on the list, having finished his college career with a third national title in 2013, and Alabama is the only program to produce multiple All-America Team selections at two different positions, offensive line and linebacker. Ohio State had two offensive lineman selected to the team, and Michigan had two defensive backs tabbed, but no other school concentrated its picks at just two spots.