clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Saban, Hurts, Allen, Robinson win individual SEC awards

The hardware is still coming in.

NCAA Football: SEC Championship-Alabama vs Florida John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC is still handing out hardware, and more coaches and players are raking them in.

Coach Nick Saban was named the SEC’s coach of the year. Additionally, he was named the Eddie Robinson regional coach of the year, and is a national coach of the year finalist.

Jalen Hurts, already a first-team All-SEC Selection, was also named the SEC’s Freshman of the year and the SEC’s Offensive Player of the Year. Jalen Hurts is the first true freshman to win the award since Georgia’s Hershel Walker.

Nagurski Award winner and first-team All-SEC selection, Jonathan Allen, was named the SEC’s Defensive Player of the Year. Later last night, Allen also won the Ted Hendricks award, celebrating the nation’s best defensive end. The celebration season is still on for Allen, who is a finalist for the Lott Impact Award, the Maxwell and the Walter Camp National Player of the Year awards.

Cam Robinson, another all-SEC first team selection, and one who has had a major rebound season, won the SEC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given to the SEC’s best offensive lineman.

Wow. What a haul. Again, congratulations to all. Roll Tide.