clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation 2017 All-American Team: Roll ‘Bama Roll’s ballot

How homerific were we? Pretty objective, TBH

Alabama v Auburn
Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The regular season has concluded, and it’s time to cast our ballots for All-Americans. Last year, we peppered our submission with a lot more midmajor players (Forrest Lamp, Ed Oliver etc.) and those from smaller programs (Lamar Jackson, Jordan Willis.) This year, however, the vast majority of the nation’s impact players hail from the traditional powers and other Tier One contenders. In our estimation, the men below earned our votes on the field. Congratulations.


QB: Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma,) J.T. Barrett (Ohio State,) Drew Lock (Mizzou)

WR/TE: Anthony Miller (Memphis,) James Washington (Oklahoma State,) David Sills (West Virginia)

RB1: Royce Freeman (Oregon)

RB2: Rashaad Penny (San Diego State)

Flex: Kerryon Johnson (Auburn,) Saquon Barkley (Penn State,) Bryce Love (Stanford)

C: Frank Ragnow (Arkansas)

OG: Quenton Nelson (Notre Dame,) Braden Smith (Auburn)

OT: Mike McGlinchey (Notre Dame,) Orlando Brown (Oklahoma)

Other OLs: Jonah Williams (Tackle, Alabama), Martinas Rankin (Tackle, Mississippi State)


DE: Jeff Holland (AU,) Bradley Chubb (NC State)

DT: Da’Ron Payne (Alabama,) Christian Wilkins (Clemson)

Other DL: Arden Key (LSU,) Rashan Gary (Michigan)

LB: Roquan Smith (UGA,) Kendall Joseph (Clemson,) Micah Kiser (UVA)

Other LBs: Harold Landry (BC,) Rashaan Evans (Alabama)

CBs: Joshua Jackson (Iowa,) Isaiah Oliver (Colorado)

Safeties: Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama,) Derwin James (FSU)

Other DBs: Arrmani Watts (Texas A&M,) Ronnie Harrison (Alabama)

Special Teams

Punter: J.K. Scott (Alabama)

Kicker: Eddy Pineiro (Florida)

KR: Tony Pollard (Memphis)

PR: Dante Pettis (Washington)


Coaches of the Year (rank order): Scott Frost (UCF,) Jeff Brohm (Purdue,) Lane Kiffin (FAU)

OCs of the Year (rank order): Kendal Briles (FAU) Joe Moorhead (Penn State,) Chip Lindsay (Auburn)

DCs of the Year (rank order): Jeremy Pruitt (Alabama,) Brent Venables (Clemson,) Kevin Steele (Auburn)

Games of the Year (rank order): Penn State-Ohio State, UCF-USF, UCLA-Texas A&M