clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tide players named to Nagurski, Biletnikoff, Outland watch lists, and more

New, comments

Minkah Fitzpatrick in particular could take home a lot of hardware

SEC Championship - Alabama v Florida
I’m pulling for this guy to win all the things.
Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

There are a whole lot of guys getting preseason love from the watch lists. Earlier last week we had the Chuck Bednarik and Maxwell award nominees. Here are some more players to watch for other positional honors.

You can click on the name of the award for more of the selection criteria and to see the complete list of nominees:

Paul Hornung Award:

Minkah Fitzpatrick

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its eighth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission, and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

Butkus Award:

Rashaan Evans, Shaun Dion Hamilton

The Butkus Award honoring the nation’s best linebackers kicked off its 33rd annual selection process Monday by announcing its collegiate preseason watch list.

Mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey of the award’s namesake Dick Butkus, whom NFL Films considers the best defensive player in football history, each watch list features 51 players identified by a 51-person selection panel of deeply experienced coaches, talent evaluators and journalists. Appearance on the watch list is not required to become a winner.

Danny Wuerffel Award:

Minkah Fitzpatrick

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Biletnikoff Award:

Calvin Ridley

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back or running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely the outstanding wide receiver.

Jim Thorpe Award:

Minkah Fitzpatrick

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. It is awarded to the best defensive back in college football based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled not only as a running back, passer, and kicker on the offensive side of the ball; but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

Outland Trophy

Da’Ron Payne, Bradley Bozeman, Jonah Williams

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

Bronco Nagurski Award:

Rashaan Evans, Minkah Fitzpatrick, Ronnie Harrison, Da’Ron Payne

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Ray Guy Award:

J.K. Scott

The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2017 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

Rimington Trophy: (outstanding center)

Bradley Bozeman

John Mackey Award:

Hale Hentges

The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2017 John Mackey Award preseason watch list. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Dec. 6, 2017

We still have some big ones coming up: The Walter Camp, the Davey O’Brien Award, and the Doak Walker watch lists should all feature Tide players when they are released over the coming days. We’ll keep you updated.

Roll Tide