clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Alabama lands 4 on Walter Camp Award watch list; two more on Doak Walker Award watch list

New, comments

The last of the preseason watch lists are in

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl - Washington v Alabama
O’Brien winner to Doak Walker winner? A pretty good chance.
Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

This is beginning to get silly, isn’t it? The last three of the big individual awards released their watch lists and, to no one’s surprise, Alabama players made every one of them. And, in the case of the Doak Walker (RB) and Walter Camp (best overall player,) the Tide had multiple players on the watch lists.

Walter Camp Award (best overall player)

Jalen Hurts (QB,) Bo Scarbrough (RB,) Calvin Ridley (WR,) Minkah Fitzpatrick (DB)

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of forty “players to watch” for its 2017 Player of the Year award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. ... Nine players on the 2017 watch list have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors. n all, 30 schools and 10 conferences are represented on the list with national runner-up Alabama having four players, and Ohio State having three.

Ed. Note: That is correct, 10% of the Walter Camp Award watch list reside in Tuscaloosa.


Doak Walker Award

Bo Scarbrough, Damien Harris

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released today the preseason candidates for the 2017 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation’s top college running back.

Junior Saquon Barkley of Penn State and Kamryn Pettway of Auburn, Doak Walker Award semifinalists from a year ago, headline the crop of preseason candidates.

Davey O’Brien Award

Jalen Hurts

The Davey O’Brien Foundation unveiled the 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List today, a group that includes 30 of the nation’s top college quarterbacks.

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, this year’s list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2017 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at their current institution.

Two finalists for last year’s award, Lamar Jackson of Louisville and Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, headline the list. It was Mayfield’s second straight season as a finalist.

Roll Tide.