clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jaylen Waddle named SEC Special Teams Player of the Year

A well deserved honor for the young speedster.

NCAA Football: Alabama at Auburn John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC coaches voted on individual season awards for 2019, and in what was likely an easy choice, Alabama’s Jaylen Waddle was honored as Special Teams Player of the Year.

The sophomore led the nation in punt return average with a stellar 24.9 yards per attempt and a touchdown. That average was a full four yards ahead of the second best number. For whatever reason he didn’t return many kickoffs, but averaged 38 yards per return on those and ran back the touchdown against Auburn.

The rest of the awards are listed below.

Thoughts on who the hell voted for Bo Nix any of the other awards?

Roll Tide!

Offensive Player of the Year: Joe Burrow, LSU

Defensive Player of the Year: Derrick Brown, Auburn

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Freshman of the Year: Bo Nix, Auburn

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Andrew Thomas, Georgia

Coach of the Year: Ed Orgeron, LSU