clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Alabama Crimson Tide Softball is a GO!

New, 4 comments

2021 Bama schedule for #Team25 is out.

Montana Fouts and Team25 are ready to roll.
@NCAAsoftball

Any fear of SEC Softball not getting played this year has been quashed by the release of the spring schedule with the usual 24-game SEC slate.

Interestingly, the Crimson Tide will play single “out-of-conference” games against #6 LSU and Mississippi State that will not count in the SEC standings. While new to softball, this occurrence is prevalent in college baseball such as when Alabama and Auburn play in the Capital City Classic in Montgomery.

Alabama starts off the season with a tough invitational that includes #3 Texas and #5 Arizona. The Tide also has a late two-game series against #8 ULL in April. Bama will have one game against UAB in Birmingham on Mar 17 (Wed).

No announcements have been made as to how many fans will be allowed to attend games this spring.

(All rankings are based on last year since the new polls have not been released as of yet.)

Texas Classic

Feb 12 (Fri) 10:30 a.m. CT Colorado State (Austin, TX)
Feb 12 (Fri) 3:30 p.m. CT at Texas (Austin, TX)
Feb 13 (Sat) 6 p.m. CT at Texas (Austin, TX)
Feb 13 (Sat) 8:30 p.m. CT Arizona (Austin, TX)
Feb 14 (Sun) 1 p.m. CT Colorado State (Austin, TX)

Easton Bama Bash

Feb 19 (Fri) 4 p.m. CT vs Liberty (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Feb 20 (Sat) 3 p.m. CT vs Gardner-Webb (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Feb 21 (Sun) 1 p.m. CT vs LSU (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Feb 24 (Wed) vs UAB (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Easton Crimson Classic

Feb 26 (Fri) 4 p.m. CT vs Memphis (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Feb 27 (Sat) 11 a.m. CT vs UNC (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Feb 28 (Sun) 1 p.m. CT vs Troy (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Mar 3 (Wed) vs Mississippi State (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Easton T-Town Showdown

Mar 5 (Fri) 4 p.m. CT vs Kent State (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Mar 6 (Sat) 11 a.m. CT vs UNI (DH) (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Mar 7 (Sun) 1 p.m. CT vs South Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Mar 12 (Fri) at Auburn (Auburn, AL)
Mar 13 (Sat) at Auburn (Auburn, AL)
Mar 14 (Sun) at Auburn (Auburn, AL)

Mar 17 (Wed) at UAB (Birmingham, AL)

Mar 19 (Fri) vs Tennessee (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Mar 20 (Sat) vs Tennessee (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Mar 21 (Sun) vs Tennessee (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Mar 24 (Wed) vs North Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Mar 26 (Fri) at Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
Mar 27 (Sat) at Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
Mar 28 (Sun) at Kentucky (Lexington, KY)

Apr 1 (Thu) vs Texas A&M (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Apr 2 (Fri) vs Texas A&M (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Apr 3 (Sat) vs Texas A&M (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Apr 9 (Fri) at Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR)
Apr 10 (Sat) at Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR)
Apr 11 (Sun) at Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR)

Apr 14 (Wed) vs Alabama State (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Apr 16 (Fri) vs Florida (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Apr 17 (Sat) vs Florida (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Apr 18 (Sun) vs Florida (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Apr 21 (Wed) vs Southern Miss (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Apr 24 (Sat) vs Louisiana (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Apr 25 (Sun) vs Louisiana (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Apr 30 (Fri) at Georgia (Athens, GA)
May 1 (Sat) at Georgia (Athens, GA)
May 2 (Sun) at Georgia (Athens, GA)

May 7 (Fri) vs Ole Miss (Tuscaloosa, AL)
May 8 (Sat) vs Ole Miss (Tuscaloosa, AL)
May 9 (Sun) vs Ole Miss (Tuscaloosa, AL)

2021 SEC Softball Tournament

May 12-May 15 (Wed-Sat) (Tuscaloosa, AL)

Softball and all the other conference sports each have a big thank you owed to football for the incredible example they put forward to get as full a season as possible. Alabama softball in particular owes another debt of gratitude. This one goes to former Crimson Tide AD Bill Battle for his incredible act of generosity:

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 season, it seemed like a remarkable group of Tide seniors would miss out on their swan song. When the NCAA waved their magic wand and made their rash proclamation that everyone would get an extra year, they really put the schools in balance sheet dilemmas. It’s so great the NCAA looks like the heroes, but who is paying for the scholarships? For Alabama, the answer came in an angel in crimson and white. Roll Tide, Mr. Battle!