clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

50 SEC Head Coaches During the Nick Saban Era

While Saban has been a constant at Alabama, the carousel keeps spinning at other locales.

NCAA Football: Citrus Bowl-Michigan vs Alabama
Nick Saban poses for Mount Rushmore.
Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

January 3 should be a statewide holiday in Alabama. Except maybe in Lee County. It is on that date in 2007 that Nick Saban accepted an offer to become the Crimson Tide’s 27th head football coach. 2021 will be his 15th season in Tuscaloosa. In that time, 50 coaches have come and gone at the other 13 SEC schools (pending a new hire in Knoxville). This number does not include interim coaches which probably adds another half a dozen or so to that total. Tennessee begins their search for the sixth head coach during the Saban era. This number ties Arkansas for most head coaches since 2007.

Arkansas Razorbacks (6)
Houston Nutt, Bobby Petrino, John L. Smith, Bret Bielema, Chad Morris, Sam Pittman

Auburn Tigers (4)
Tommy Tuberville, Gene Chizik, Gus Malzahn, Bryan Harsin

Florida Gators (4)
Urban Meyer, Will Muschamp, Jim McElwain, Dan Mullen

Georgia Bulldogs (2)
Mark Richt, Kirby Smart

Kentucky Wildcats (3)
Rich Brooks, Joker Phillips, Mark Stoops

LSU Tigers (2)
Les Miles, Ed Orgeron

Mississippi State Bulldogs (4)
Sylvester Croom, Dan Mullen, Joe Moorhead, Mike Leach

Missouri Tigers (3)
Gary Pinkel, Barry Odom, Eli Drinkwitz (joined the SEC in 2012 with Pinkel)

Ole Miss Rebels (5)
Ed Orgeron, Houston Nutt, Hugh Freeze, Matt Luke, Lane Kiffin

South Carolina Gamecocks (3)
Steve Spurrier, Will Muschamp, Shane Beamer

Tennessee Volunteers (6)
Phillip Fulmer, Lane Kiffin, Derek Dooley, Butch Jones, Jeremy Pruitt, TBA

Texas A&M Aggies (4)
Dennis Franchione, Mike Sherman, Kevin Sumlin, Jimbo Fisher (joined the SEC in 2012 with Sumlin)

Vanderbilt Commodores (5)
Bobby Johnson, Robbie Caldwell, James Franklin, Derek Mason, Clark Lea